Error: Sync & Save is already running under another user account.

You will receive this error if an instance of Sync & Save is already running under a different user account.

In order to run Sync & Save under the current logged in user, you will need to close the existing instance of Sync & Save:
  • Open Task Manager (type "Task Manager" in the search box of the Start menu).

  • Click "Show processes from all users."

  • Switch to the Processes tab and find the SyncAndSave.exe process.

  • If the User Name listed next to the SyncAndSave.exe process is different than the current user then there are two options:
    1. Switch users to the listed user and close Sync & Save normally (preferred).
    2. End the process by selecting the process and clicking End Process.

  • If the User Name listed next to the SyncAndSave.exe process is the same as the currently logged in user there is only one option:
    1. End the process by selecting the process and clicking End Process.

Sync & Save is not designed as a multi-user application. The files that store job configuration are shared between all sessions/instances so if two users (the task scheduler should be thought of as a user) were to edit the configuration of the same job at the same time, the last user to save the job would overwrite the changes made by the previous user.

Feedback and Knowledge Base